20 Second Timeout is the place to find the best analysis and commentary about the NBA.

Sunday, April 09, 2023

Updating the 100/100 Club From 2016-2023

In my December 31, 2015 article The 100-100 Club Revisited, I updated the membership roster through the 2014-15 season for the exclusive club of pro basketball players who have tallied at least 100 steals and at least 100 blocked shots in the same season. I first examined this subject in the April 2022 issue of Basketball Digest, and then I discussed it again at NBCSports.com in 2006 (subsequently updated at 20 Second Timeout to include the 2006-07 season). I also keep track of the 200-100 Club (200 steals and 100 blocked shots in the same season), the 100-200 Club (100 steals and 200 blocked shots in the same season), and the Top 10 Club (players who ranked in the top 10 in both steals per game and blocked shots per game in the same season).

From the 2015-2016 season through the 2022-23 season, six players recorded a total of 10 100-100 Club seasons. Paul Millsap (2016), Draymond Green (2016, 2017), and Giannis Antetokounmpo (2017, 2018) are the 100-100 Club's three newest members. Andre Drummond joined the club in 2014, and made three more appearances (2016, 2018, 2019) since 2015. Nerlens Noel joined the 100-100 Club in 2015, and he qualified again in 2016. Anthony Davis also joined the 100-100 Club in 2015, and he made his second appearance in 2018.

Drummond is the last NBA player to reach the 100-100 milestone. The 2020 and 2021 seasons were shortened by the COVID-19 pandemic, but even after the NBA schedule returned to normal in 2022 no players posted 100-100 seasons in 2022 or 2023. 

The 100-100 Club has 61 members, with 30 of those players accomplishing the feat just once. Julius Erving and Hakeem Olajuwon hold the record with 12 such seasons. The rest of the all-time top 10 includes Kevin Garnett (eight 100-100 seasons), Sam Lacey (seven), David Robinson (seven), Ben Wallace (seven), Bobby Jones (six), George Gervin (five), Vlade Divac (five) and Shawn Marion (five).

The 200-100 Club and 100-200 Club did not gain new members since 2015. The 200-100 Club has four members: Michael Jordan (twice), Julius Erving, Hakeem Olajuwon and Scottie Pippen. The 100-200 Club has 14 members; the only players with at least two 100-200 seasons are Olajuwon (11), David Robinson (seven), Kareem Abdul-Jabbar (three), Ben Wallace (three), Terry Tyler (two), Patrick Ewing (two), Andrei Kirilenko (two), and Josh Smith (two).

In 2018-19, Drummond became the 10th member of the Top 10 Club, ranking eighth in steals per game and eighth in blocked shots per game. Drummond ranked third in steals per game and ninth in blocked shots per game in 2019-20.

Erving holds the record with six Top 10 Club seasons, two more than Olajuwon had. Bobby Jones (two), Ben Wallace (two), and Andre Drummond (two) are the only other players with more than one Top 10 Club season.

Labels: , , , , , , ,

posted by David Friedman @ 9:47 PM



Post a Comment

<< Home